Latest News

<<Back to Latest News Main Page

GB.Net News Archive ~ GB.Net News By Category

Art Directors Guild Announces Nominations for 2004 Film, TV and Commercial Awards; Ceremony to Take Place Feb. 12

Category: Phantom of the Opera News
Article Date: January 13, 2005 | Publication: BUSINESS WIRE | Author: editors

Posted by: admin

The Art Directors Guild (ADG) today announced nominations in seven categories of Production Design for motion pictures, television and commercials competing in ADG's Ninth Annual Excellence in Production Design Awards for 2004. Announcement of nominations was made today by ADG's President Tom Walsh and Awards Chairs Dina Lipton and Robert Strohmaier. Deadline for final voting by the 1,000-members of ADG is February 11. Black-tie ceremonies announcing winners will take place Saturday, February 12, from the International Ballroom of the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

As previously announced, ADG's Outstanding Contributions to Cinematic Imagery Award will go this year to Chinese filmmaker Zhang Yimou, director of the highly acclaimed "House of Flying Daggers" and of three previous films nominated for Best Foreign Language Films by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences: "Ju Dou" (1990), "Raise the Red Lantern" (1991) and "HERO" (2003). Production Designer William Creber, a three-time Academy-Award nominee (for "The Greatest Story Ever Told," "The Poseidon Adventure" and "The Towering Inferno") will be presented the Guild's Lifetime Achievement honor. In addition, ADG will induct the following legendary production designers from the past into its newly formed Hall of Fame: Wilfred Buckland, Richard Day, John DeCuir, Sr., Anton Grot, Boris Leven, William Cameron Menzies and Van Nest Polglase.

IN 2004:

Period or Fantasy Film
THE AVIATOR Production Designer: Dante Ferretti
FINDING NEVERLAND Production Designer: Gemma Jackson
THE INCREDIBLES Production Designer: Lou Romano
LEMONY SNICKET'S A SERIES OF Production Designer: Rick Heinrichs
THE PHANTOM OF THE OPERA Production Designer: Anthony Pratt..


| Printer Friendly Version